Homemade Ham and Potato Wedges

DSCN7178

It’s so nice having housemates who love to cook. My friend Alex, for example, makes a particularly good ham. Being a country boy from Wiltshire, I wouldn’t really expect any less. However, I was a bit skeptical about the whole ham thing as I have never really liked that type of meat. I’ve only found it tastes really fatty and processed, even the fresh stuff you get from the butcher’s.

But wow, Alex’s ham blew me away. We bought a joint of gammon and he boiled it in red wine for 2h15 (how long you cook it depends on the weight) with red onion, star anise, peppercorns, and I’m not sure what else. He then created a glaze with red currant jelly and covered the ham in it. It was then put in the oven for about 30mins and wow the result was amazing! The smells reminded me of Christmas, mulled wine and mince pies. We had already had dinner so just had a cheeky taste of it and it was so succulent! Properly meaty, a beautiful pink with a sweetness from the glaze. So tender and satisfying!

Last night we had the ham cold with Carole’s home made potato wedges and salad. What a treat that was! Homemade food really does taste so much better. As I said to Carole and Alex yesterday, meals like this one make life worth living!

Leave a Reply

